Season 2 – Episode 12 – Jihad on Ice

Synopsis: Amaar challenges Fred Tupper to a curling showdown though Amaar’s knowledge of the sport is rather limited.

When Fred Tupper mocks Amaar’s attempts to curl, Amaar sets up Mercy’s — and perhaps the world’s — first Muslim curling team. Rayyan’s got natural talent, but is she so good that the team will lose her? Meanwhile Sarah uses Islamic tradition to get Yasir to pay for a shopping spree.

Part 1:

Part 2:

Part 3:

Videos courtesy of mydien

What did you think of this episode? How does it compare to the previous episode?

Are there any other topics from the episode that you want to discuss?

43 Comments

Filed under Season 2 - Episode 12

43 responses to “Season 2 – Episode 12 – Jihad on Ice

  1. Kay

    I also enjoyed this episode – the part where Rayann was not allowed to play because of the supposed ‘dangers’ of the hijab were topical since this sort of foolish thing has happened here in Canada recently with girl’s soccer. I like the way it quietly showed how the outcome of such a decision made for a loss for Fred Tupper (who started it all). Karma!

  2. Anton

    Baber won the game!

  3. Kevin

    Why did the episode have to use the word “Jihad” in its title?

    It is a very sensitive term that I am offended that they used.

    The writers of this show don’t seem to be that sensitive. I sense a lack of tolerance on their part to non-Muslims. They want the rest of the world to be sensitive to what might offend them but obviously they don’t think they need to return this sensitivity.

    They are a bunch of hypocrites.

  4. Kate

    Kevin, I agree about your offense over the word “Jihad” as it is used in the title.

    For lots of people in North America the term “Jihad” means Muslims declaring to kill non-believers (infidels they call them).

    To put such language on this title indeed was very insensitive. I have for one have tried never to use the word “crusade” ever since this whole “sensitivity to Muslims” thing has started even though when we use that term these days we don’t really even remember the source of the word (we have a very poor long term memory). But it seems with those who call for “sensitivity” it is indeed a one way street with them. We are supposed to be sensitive to them, but they can treat us as insensitively as possible.

    I join you in offense over the title of this episode.

  5. Anton

    O dear Lord,

    Can everybody please stop with the “I’m sensitive to foreign terminology!”?

    Jihad means struggle. I guess in context you can translate it as “religious struggle”. So, “religious struggle on ice”. Man, you people need to loosen up a little.

    wa-salaam

  6. nahida

    Salaam Anton–

    When you use a period, even though it’s not included in the quotation, it goes inside the marks. Question marks and exclaimation points can go outside, but commas and periods are inside whether or not they are a part of the quotation. SORRY. I just had to say that. =X It’s one of those little things, you know? I’m a bit of a grammar Nazi. Sorry, sorry. xD

    Salaam,
    Nahida

    For everyone else–

    But I guess I shouldn’t use the word term “Nazi” because apparently people might take it the wrong way. Right?

    “Jihad” may be too close to home to use loosely, but you all have to understand that it is a foreign term and the connotations will differ greatly. We can never learn to accept each other if we only ever consider our own perspectives. Islamically a jihad is for self-defense if one’s religion is attacked. Despite what any of the Muslims shown on the news may represent, jihad by no means is an excuse to attack non-Muslims simply because they are non-Muslim.

    I guess since Fred Tupper said that Muslims couldn’t curl, Amaar challenged him to a curling showdown. It’s a very vague, faded, blurred-over version, and for comical purposes. We do it all the time today. You’re just not used to hearing it with “jihad.”

    Wish you the best,
    Nahida

  7. Steve

    Say the show was about a bunch of German Immigrants who were challenged to a curling showdown.

    And the title was “Nazis on Ice” or even “Blitzkrieg on Ice”.

    Or the German Immigrants were challenged by the Mercy’s Jewish community to a curling showdown and the title of the show was “Holocaust on Ice”.

    Yeah, all those titles would be highly offensive.

    Just like “Jihad on Ice” is.

  8. Steve

    “We can never learn to accept each other if we only ever consider our own perspectives.”

    I throw that right back to you. Jihad is a very politically and emotionally charged word, especially in this day and age.

    You need to consider OUR perspective on that.

  9. Steve

    Oh, by the way, instead of the “Fred Cats” Fred Tupper should have called his team the “In Fred Dels”

  10. nahida

    ” “We can never learn to accept each other if we only ever consider our own perspectives.”

    I throw that right back to you. Jihad is a very politically and emotionally charged word, especially in this day and age.

    You need to consider OUR perspective on that.”

    Steve–

    OUR? As in not me? Steve, I may be Muslim but I’ve lived in America all my life–that’s almost 17 years. I didn’t just consider “OUR” perspective–I LIVE it. I was simply making a point in saying that if we can say things like “He’s a grammar Nazi,” (and trust me, the first time I heard that, I DID wince) I don’t see why we can’t say things like “Jihad on ice.” In this day and age it may be very politically and emotionally charged, but humor is deep and laughter is something we all have in common despite belief or race or culture. We may laugh at different things, but that is because we have different mentally. If the title offends you, it wasn’t meant to do so. They didn’t mean it in a cruel or condescending way. The last thing we need now is miscommunication.

  11. Alex

    Does anyone know what the names of the other two members of Fred’s team were? I was thinking that if one of the guy’s name was Ed, and the other guy’s name was Del, they could have named the team using each person’s first name. You know, the “Ed Fred Del’s”

  12. Steve

    “Grammar Nazi” is a harsh term. It means that one is being a Fascist and cruel when it comes to grammar. You should be highly offended if someone calls you that (unless you are extremely dictatorial and cruel when it comes to grammar).

    I have used the term “Bike Nazi” before. When I use it I do mean it as an offense and I am very careful who I use it on. I don’t mean the average bicyclist. I mean only quite a few really. Those who would use the roads by getting right in front of a driver and go real slowly just to annoy them.

    They want to use the road like cars do but they don’t even give the proper hand signals and they just run right out in the road expecting the driver to stop even though they don’t indicate a signal and run out at the last moment.

    And then you have them doing their protests for whatever reason. I have heard stories of them banging on cars and terrorising people in cars becaue of course cars are evil and bicycles are good.

    So, yeah, I have used the term “Bicycle Nazi” but when I do, I really mean it. I mean to attack. I mean to offend and I really believe it’s applicable to the people I am using ther term against.

    So, if this show is going to use the word “Jihad” they better use it carefully as it is bound to offend, and if that’s their goal, then I guess that’s their goal, but they should realize that when they use that word people WILL TAKE offense.

  13. Steve

    Nazi is never a funny word!

    (Well except perhaps how Seinfeld used it to describe a owner of a diner he went to who cooked the best tasting soup ever but was extremely rude to his customers).

  14. nahida

    I never said it was funny.

    Maybe I just don’t find it offensive because whenever anyone says it they are usually laughing goodnaturedly. I just feel that it’s important not to just look at words but at the emotion behind them. If someone had sneered it at me, I’m sure I would have dropped their books in the mud. No, wait, I love books. Well, I would have done SOMETHING…

    I’m sure they didn’t mean for it to take offense. And there are all different kinds of people, so of course it will offend SOMEONE. You can never get everyone to feel just one way about something. That’s the reason we have so much variety. Thank goodness for it.

  15. Steve

    Nahida, since you are a teenage I have a question for you.

    As you know America has become quite a Liberal country in regards to sexuality (it wasn’t always that way) and teachers in particular promote the Leftist agenda which includes the promotion of sexual education in the government run schools.

    This has forced conservative Christians and even more moderate Christians into the privately owned schools or even to be educate their own children at home.

    Given that Muslims are quite conservative when it comes to stuff like sex education (one of the things I highly respect about Muslims) have you gone to the government owned schools in America? If so were you forced into their very explicit sex education classes? And if you were, how did your parents react.

    Since the CBC is so liberal and would otherwise support madatory sex education, I wonder if they will have the guts to deal with it on the show.

    Layla goes to an Government owned school. So I wonder how Baber would react if she had to take sex education in her health class.

    The reason I am calling the school “government owned” is for one reason, it is. But also, because while in the states we call such as school a “public school” in the UK, they actually call what we would call a “private school” a “public school” I guess because it is owned by members of the public instead of the government, whereas we call it a “private school” because no public funds are used for its building and operation but instead it is the private property of the owners of the school.

    Yeah, one of the difference between British English and American English.

  16. Steve

    By the way, after hitting “Submit Comment” I re-read what I wrote and there are a few mistakes.

    “This has forced conservative Christians and even more moderate Christians into the privately owned schools or even to be educate their own children at home.”

    There should be no “be” in that sentence.

    “And if you were, how did your parents react.”

    It should be a question mark not a period at the end of that sentence. Also, is that comma in the sentence necessary or is it a “comma splice” error?

    Sorry for those errors.

  17. Steve

    Yeah, one of the difference between British English and American English.

    Should be “differences”.

    Sorry for that error as well.

  18. Steve

    As you know America has become quite a Liberal country in regards to sexuality (it wasn’t always that way) and teachers in particular promote the Leftist agenda which includes the promotion of sexual education in the government run schools.

    Technically I guess “Liberal” shouldn’t be capitalized because it isn’t a proper name. Now if I was talking about the Liberal political party in Canada then it would be capitalized.

    “Leftist” though I believe can properly be capitalized. I am correct in this am I not?

    Sorry, when I type comments in blogs I type quickly and often do not re-read what I type. Also I don’t write as carefully as say I would if this was some English essay.

    Please forgive my errors.

  19. Steve

    Nahida, since you are a teenage I have a question for you.

    It should be “teenager”. Gosh, I am not doing so well tonight.

  20. Steve

    By the way do you put a hyphen in the word “government-run” or is it it like I had it being which was not putting in an hyphen.

  21. Steve

    Yeah, question mark not period at the end of that sentence.

    That’s it, I am off to bed.

  22. Nahida

    Steve–

    Yes, I have gone to government-run schools. I took the same sex education classes as everyone else, but I don’t remember them being very explicit. I think very conservative Christians and Muslims in America who attend private schools do it more for the actual religious environment of a private school (on top of the issue with sex education, of course.) And I believe this because in order to take those classes, we have to have parental permission. If my mother didn’t want me to participate in the class, all she would have needed to do was write a note, and I would have been excused.

    Islam IS extremely conservative when it comes to sex education. My mother came to the States when she was 23 (now she’s 39), and we live in California, where practically everyone is a liberal. It may have loosened her up a bit. She was alright with it being explained in scientific terms. She requested to see the videos beforehand to be sure she was okay with my participation. In the seventh grade we were also given lectures about abstinence by the school; of course she was alright with this as well–in Islam sex is forbidden before marriage, for obvious reasons. My mother had more problems with me wearing a bathing suit in co-ed p.e. than she did with me taking sex education.

    But this is all during class, and when you step out onto CAMPUS it’s a whole different world. That might be the main reason both religious and moderate Christians want their children in private schools. My mother believed that I’d have the learn about sex eventually, and it’s better to learn about sex in school than off the streets. She also suspected that I had enough religious and moral reinforcement to be able to make the right choses on what I should or should not believe or do.

    I am aware that now instead of classes on abstinence, there are classes on safe sex, because everyone figures that teenagers are going to go on with it anyway, so they might as well be taught to use protection. My mother’s alright with that too–but only because she knows she can trust me. However, she does worry a lot about to what the world is coming. She has friends who are Muslims and very conservative Christians and Jews. They all believe that sex education should be a certain way. Factual, but not explicit. And abstinence should be thoroughly promoted.

    Formally, you would hyphenate “governement-run,” but it isn’t a must in the colloquial.

  23. Samina

    I really reallly really hate Sarah!!!! She is officially the most annoying character on the show. I want to see more of the mayor, now she is funny!

    Oh and Alex, the other guy was Joe I think so Joe-Fred-Del’s doesn’t really work.

  24. Paul

    When Amaar makes the deal with Fred Tupper that if they lose they will never curl again, but if they win then Fred can’t say anything bad about Muslims for a week, isn’t that a bet?

    And aren’t bets forbidden in Islam?

  25. Episode 13 The Crush has been Uploaded 🙂

  26. Lesia

    OK… everyone take a deep breath.

    Maybe Nazi isn’t supposed to be funny but, Mel Brooks has made a tidy sum off making it funny. Just look at the success of The Producers and not once but twice or take the end of his History of the World Part 1 where he promotes a never to be made sequel called Hitler on Ice.

    I don’t believe for one instant that the creators/writers of this show were trying to offend anyone by using the term “Jihad”. While I can not speak for them I do believe with all my heart they were trying to get people to see the term “Jihad” has many means with 99% of those meanings to be harmless. I think, or at least the way I took it, was that by placing the term before the public in a comedic vehicle that those who may have been frightened of it in the context we have unfortunately gotten used to hearing/reading it would stop and think the next time instead of having the knee-jerk fear response we have become conditioned to project just like Fred Tupper.

    This is a great program even without the little lessons it tries so hard to teach and it reminds me very much of MASH when it uses humor to rip the mask off stereotypes. I hope it has a good long run with as much success as MASH. I also want this show in the US just as it is without Hollyweird interference such as a rewrite or recast.

    Well Done CBC!

  27. Anton

    I personally thought “Jihad on Ice” was a funny title.

    But let’s run the analogy with fascism. You were talking about how it would be offensive if you called a show about Germans “Blitzkrieg on Ice”. Yes, it would be offensive. But it would be offensive to the Germans. I would be kind of disgusted with the title, because >it offends another group<. So in that comparison, I should be offended, since I’m Muslim. But I’m not, I love the title.

    But why would “Blitzkrieg on Ice” be offensive? It would be offensive because you’re stereotyping Germans as Nazis (and if you haven’t seen that used for comedy purposes, watch the movie “Eurotrip” – which, btw, my friends in Germany watched and appreciated). So what’s so offensive about “Jihad on Ice”? That all Muslims wage jihad?

    Once again, let’s remember the definition of “jihad” – struggle. Do all Muslims struggle with their faith? Yes, they all do. So let’s just take it easy here.

    I do acknowledge the fact that the Muslim community often IS insensitive to non-Muslims. But the title of this episode is not an example of that insensitivity. Please, stop freaking out every time we use an Arabic word.

  28. Jihad is something that Muslims declare against someone else (eg. Infidels). It is something that they wage against another group.

    In this article they talk about a “Jihad” declared against the Moroccan State.

    http://www.jamestown.org/terrorism/news/article.php?articleid=2369817

    The person who declares the Jihad is some Muslim religious leader (or at least is considered a leader by some Muslims).

    So, I guess it was Amaar, who is the Muslim religious leader in Mercy (at least as Iman that is what he is supposed to be) who called Jihad on Fred and his curling team, and who rallied other Muslims to join him in this Jihad, but of course this time not with bombs or machine guns or anything like that but instead with brooms.

    Yeah, I guess hah, hah we are supposed to find it funny that one would use the term Jihad to describe something so mild mannered as a curling competition. But I don’t find it funny because it makes me think of all the real Jihads going around the world and how so many are suffering and dying because of them. It seems an attempt to trivialize all of that just like had the people who challenged Fred Tupper were German and the title of the episode was “Blitzkrieg on Ice” as that would seem to wrongly trivalize the suffering of all the people who were run over the tracks of Nazi Tanks.

    Of course the big difference is that the Blitzkrieg went on a long time ago but real Jihads with real suffering and deaths are going on today.

  29. Mo

    My two cents: I know what “jihad”/”jehad” means, but even I found this title confusing. Maybe a subtle explanation in the episode would have helped (and calmed some tempers).

    Not my favorite episode…actually, I think it may have been the weakest/most dull for me so far.

  30. Jo

    JIHAD MEANS INNER STRUGGLE!!!
    Loosen up people!!!
    The show was about Amar’s STRUGGLE in the curling team!!!

  31. Kevin

    Jihad means Holy War declared by some Islamic leader against some group.

    Amar declared Holy War against Fred’s curling team.

    Yeah, it sounds harsh, and that is why the use of the term was so inappropriate.

  32. Nahida

    It means struggle.

  33. Kevin

    Jihad is when a Muslim leader tells his followers to attack another group. It is a declaration of Holy War.

    So, what the title of the show suggests is that Amaar used his position of leader of the Islamic community in Mercy to declare Holy War against Fred’s curling team.

    Now we are supposed to laugh at the title because well, it’s not a real war that is fought with bullets and bombs, but instead it was fought with brooms.

    But still I find the title offensive because I feel it trivalizes the pain and suffering that is caused when Islamic leaders actually do declare Jihad as is happening so often today.

    Again, it would be just like if Fred’s team was challenged by some Germans and the title of the episode was “Blitzkrieg on Ice”. Hah, hah what a funny title until you think of all the people who died under the tracks of Nazi tanks.

    People are dying from Jihads today. Not only 60 years ago but right now. So calling a curling challenge a “Jihad” trivalizes all of that.

  34. Jo

    Kevin…take it from a Muslim…..
    Jihad means STRUGGLE!!!
    Not from what the media is trying to portray.
    Back at the time of the Prophet, the Muslims were being attacked and they were STRUGGLING to stay alive, that was what was meant by Jihad.

    And…. there was nothing holy about Amaar’s challenge to Fred, just because Amar was a Muslim, it doesn’t turn a simple challenge into a Holy War!!!

  35. Nahida

    Yeah Kevin stop pretending you know Arabic.

  36. Nahida

    I find it funny that back when there was a popular belief that ‘Islam’ meant ‘peace’ the media was very quick to point out that it really meant ‘submission.’ And now that every one thinks that ‘jihad’ means ‘holy war,’ is the media pointing out that it really means ‘struggle’? No! Of course not! Because the last thing we want to do is portray Islam in a positive light–even if it’s the truth!

    Don’t tell me what words in MY language mean.

  37. Kevin

    “…there was nothing holy about Amaar’s challenge to Fred, just because Amar was a Muslim, it doesn’t turn a simple challenge into a Holy War!!!”

    Amaar is a Muslim leader so perhaps that is why in the title they were comparing it to a “jihad”. But you are right they shouldn’t have called it “Jihad on Ice” not even in jest.

    It was a very offensive title indeed.

  38. Jo

    Jihad which means STRUGGLE is not only done by leaders, but by every individual.
    Every individual STRUGGLES in life, when they are in a trauma, they are STRUGGLING to get through, and that is their Jihad.
    And Amar only LEADS the prayer in the mosque, in everything else he is practically the follower, especially with Rayyan who usually calls the shots.

  39. Don

    I’ve got a question about the subplot. The one where Sarah insists that Yassir pay for Sarah’s clothes, and other worldy goods.
    Remember that Yassir sold Sarah’s duplicate clothes to the resale shop. He got 117.50 for it (or something like that). Sarah showed him a sweater she bought for $100.00. Yassir gives Sarah the $117.50, and then said “Islam says “____” and I say “___”.
    I couldn’t make out what Yassir said. Does anyone know what he said, and what the translation is?

  40. Nahida

    Don, he said, “Islam says ‘jump.’ I say ‘how high?’ “

  41. Nan

    Fred bets Amaar that if he wins Amaar will never curl again. And if Amaar wins then Fred will not say anything negative on his show for a week.

    But, isn’t betting against Islam?

  42. Nan

    Fred bets Amaar that if he wins Amaar will never curl again. And if Amaar wins then Fred will not say anything negative about Muslims on his show for a week.

    But, isn’t betting against Islam?

Leave a Reply

