Season 2 – Episode 5 – Mercy Beet

Synopsis: A local company’s stock price rises dramatically and everybody in town wants to take advantage of the opportunity.

Toronto Maple Leaf’s star Darcy Tucker endorses a brand of beet juice made in Mercy and the company’s stock goes through the roof. Sarah helps the Mayor re-brand the town as beet capital of Canada. But will the “beet train” lead them to riches or derail the whole town.

Part 1:

Part 2:

Part 3:

Videos courtesy of mydien

What did you think of this episode? How does it compare to the previous episode?

Are there any other topics from the episode that you want to discuss?

12 Comments

Filed under Season 2 - Episode 5

12 responses to “Season 2 – Episode 5 – Mercy Beet

  1. Jesse

    Darcy Tucker !!

  2. Brian

    “When you’re an active investor like myself you need tools to….take a picture of my crotch….and email it to everyone in my contact list.” LMAO!

  3. When you click on the second video, it says it’s no longer available.

  4. LOL. It was a great episode. Thank you for posting on yt. I’m in Dubai and totally hooked on the show.

    Zeynab,
    I usually go to youtube by clicking on menu and watch on an enlarged screen from there. The second was fine for me.

  5. This one was excellent! I was laughing through most of it.

    I love Amaar and the Reverend’s friendship.

  6. asiila

    greetings:

    it seems that more and more often, we can no longer access these postings of the show. Youtube says it’s some kind of violation, and either my computer is slow, but the same thing is happening on this site—no access!

    is it because the creators/CBC want us to BUY the DVD’s? have they gotten stingy with sharing this great show for free?

    Where can we go to see the rest of these episodes on line? Unfortunately, America has not featured this show….

    asiila

  7. Episode 6 Has Been Uploaded 🙂 enjoy all

  8. Samina

    Was it just me or did you guys feel sorry for Amaar when he was broke and hungry?

    I wish we’d remember that there are people 100x worse than that and provided aid where needed.

    I’m from the UK and am using this as my only means to keep up with the show. Please don’t stop posting videos 😦

  9. DMG

    This episode reminds me of a Stephen Leacock story I heard read on CBC raido. I think Leacock’s was about a gold mine near a small Ontario town, and how the townsfolks reacted. I can’t remember the name of Leacock’s story.
    The episode also reminds me of the mark Tewain story “The Man who Corrupted Hadleyville”

  10. This episode was actually… gasp, shock! … funny!!!

  11. kate

    Loved the mayor’s first drink of beet juice!! I know, i know, a little juvenille but it was so funny. Amaar & the Rev. are getting more brotherly – good show!

  12. Don

    There is salvation for the Mercy Beet Company!
    Beet juice for ice removal!!! 🙂

    Well, that was my reaction when I heard this story,
    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=19333950
    “More U.S. cities are starting to use a mixture that includes sugar beet juice to treat icy roads. The mixture is less corrosive than salt to cars, equipment, roads and the environment. Some say the beet solution is expected to phase out traditional salt-spreading trucks in the next decade.”
    Who needs Darcy Tucker?

Leave a Reply

