Witch-Doctor Medicine

Fatima offers folk medicine to Fred Tupper to cure his ailing back. The body rub given to him turns his back green and the oral medication gives him nasty hives. Rayyan isn’t thrilled with the whole idea and Fred wonders if Fatima is in fact trying to kill him.

Grandmothers usually have such medicines and practices up their sleeves. To avoid going to the doctor, the children will try anything and psychologically they make themselves feel better, sometimes.

Do you use medicine given to you by a witch-doctor type figure? What are some of the folk medicines that your family relies on?

7 Comments

Filed under Episode 6

7 responses to “Witch-Doctor Medicine

  1. I think Westerners in general have a bias against folk medicines (the title of this post is proof enough, IMO). I admit that I’ve had a bias against folk medicines in the past; however, since marrying my wife, I’ve become more of a believer in them.

    In S’pore, where I live, there are several different types of folk medicines; one is TCM (Traditional Chinese Medicine), which includes accupuncture and uses many different types of herbal medicines (some of which smell quite horrible 😉 ). The other type doesn’t have a name per se, but my wife’s family uses some of them. For example, as a type II diabetic, I need to keep my blood sugar level down. So I drink an herbal tea (family secret), plus a cinnamon/water mix; both of which are quite effective. I’ve discovered that Tiger Balm, a local BenGay/Icy-Hot type herbal medicine gone commercial, is very effective on a number of other ailments other than muscular pain. And I’m also fond of an Indian soap called “Chandrika,” which is based on an Indian herbal medicine called Ayurveda.

    It’s not that I’ve given up on Western medicine. Hardly. I go to my doctor once a month to get more of my diabetes pills. However, I’m not nearly as skeptical about certain types of folk medicines as I was in the past. I use both types of medicines to help me get through my medical problems. That the Fred Tupper character turns green and suffers an allergic reaction is unfortunate; however, that he’s willing to try the medications in the first place, I would applaud him.

  2. Sara

    I liked this epsoide. I think medicine is medicine – if it cures you cool.

  3. Zaraf

    In the Quran, God says that honey is a cure.

  4. I loved how Fatima put Fred through all kinds of nasty stuff and then just cracked his back to make him better LOL

    As for Folk Medicines… it never hurts to try new things (or old things as the case may be) and if they work great if not I think you should go to a medical doctor

  5. Greetings everyone, I regularly use some herbal remedies, chamomile tea, ginger, caraway seeds, fennel, anise, cinnamon, turmeric, and garlic to name a few have been clinically proven to help people in various ways. turmeric breaks up the plaque in the brain that leads to Alzheimer’s Disease, just think curry is GOOD for you! 🙂 it also loweres cholesterol, cinnamon helps break down blood sugar and can cut the need for insulin in diabetics, fennel and anise are good for the stomach, ginger is good for the stomach, and can’t be taken by people who are taking Coumadin, same goes for garlic which is good for a host of things.
    Still if one is using herbal remedies one needs to realize th at anything that can help you can also hurt you if used wrongly. Most herbs have interaction with prescription and over the counter drugs and you need to let your doctor know if you are using these things.
    Modern doctors aren’t quite as against herbal medicines as Dr. Rayyan is! and herbalists are not so eager for people to suffer a bit as Fatima showed herself! 🙂
    My family lived in Mexico and our maid was a currendera and midwife, she knew herbs and we had a family friend who escaped the gulags in Siberia who learned herbal remedies from a Circassian fellow prisoner, and that is where my interest in herbal medicine comes from.

  6. rstd

    I like how they dealt with the issue. Having two Muslim women who are also good friends debate each other on the topic was a good way to dramatize the current debate on traditional medicine in society. Each had good points. I also like how both women serve the racist character even though he is a jerk and directly insults their cultures and religion.

    Perhaps I should stop being a dweeb and learn the man’s name.

  7. “As for Folk Medicines… it never hurts to try new things (or old things as the case may be) and if they work great if not I think you should go to a medical doctor”

    Oh contrary. New Things, unexamined and untested, can hurt. If someone invented a new type of poision, trying it would, indeed, “hurt”.

Leave a Reply

